Skip to main content

The network for trade,
training and development 

24 August 2019

Scottish Book Trust: Next Chapter Award

The Next Chapter Award is an annual award supporting an emerging writer over the age of 40.

Awardees receive:

  • A £2,000 cash award, allowing them to focus on their work
  • Nine months of mentoring from a writer or industry professional
  • A two week retreat at Moniack Mhor, offering time, space and the freedom to create new work in idyllic surroundings
  • PR, performance and presentation training
  • The opportunity to showcase work to publishers and agents

The award is open to poets, novelists, short story writers, authors of narrative non-fiction and children's authors.

Entries are invited in English, Scots and a combination of both. The award supports writers who are struggling to find time and space to write and who're working on a project that has real publishing potential.

Apply by noon on Wednesday 18 September 2019.

For full details and to apply, see the Scottish Book Trust website.