Skip to main content

The network for trade,
training and development 

24 October 2018

Costa Book Awards shortlists

22 November 2017

The Costa Book Awards honour some of the most outstanding books of the year written by authors based in the UK and Ireland.

There are five categories:

  • First Novel
  • Novel
  • Biography
  • Poetry
  • Children's Book.

Books are entered by publishers, and entry for the Awards closes at the end of June each year. Category winners are announced in early January and one of the category winners is chosen as Book of the Year, announced at an awards ceremony in London at the end of January.

The shortlists for the 2017 award were announced on 21 November 2017 and feature two Scottish writers: Stef Penney for Under a Pole Star  (Quercus) and Gail Honeyman for Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine (HarperCollins). Under a Pole Star is shortlisted for the Costa Novel Award and Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine for the Costa First Novel Award.

The category winners will be revealed on 2 January 2018 and the overall winner on 30 January.

For the full shortlists, see the Costa Book Awards website.