Skip to main content

The network for trade,
training and development 

20 August 2019

Donald Meek Award 2018

16 February 2018


The Gaelic Books Council is inviting submissions from Gaelic writers for the Donald Meek Award 2018. This award, established with financial assistance from Creative Scotland and Bòrd na Gàidhlig, aims to encourage and support new and established Gaelic writers and new Gaelic writing.

Rosemary Ward, Director of the Gaelic Books Council said:

"The Gaelic Books Council is hugely encouraged at the interest shown by Gaelic writers in this important annual literary competition and at the growing number of entries year on year. The shortlisted writers are invited to a glitzy event in the National Piping Centre in Glasgow. We hope that we receive a wide range of entries again this year."

Six entries were shortlisted for the Donald Meek Award 2017 and it was bestowed on Iain MacRae for his stage play, Taigh Sheonachain. Eoghan Stewart was awarded second place for his first poetry collection, Beum Sgèithe and third place was given to Morag Anne MacNeil's second book for children, Èiginn Ùisdein. The judges highly commended the efforts of all shortlisted writers.   

Submissions of new writing in Scottish Gaelic of the following genres, which is complete or nearing completion by the closing date below are sought:

  • Creative writing in Gaelic - poetry, stories, novel or drama - of book length, or approaching book length
  • Other Gaelic prose - of book length or approaching book length
  • Creative writing in Gaelic for children or young adults - of book length or approaching book length

Submissions that are already in print or that will be published before the competition closing date will not be accepted. It is not permitted to submit any piece of writing that has been previously entered for the award in any format.

Before sending submissions, writers should consult the full guidelines and terms and conditions at

Submissions should be sent via email to on or before 17.00 on FRIDAY 04 MAY 2018.

The shortlist will be announced early in September and the award will be presented at an evening reception in Glasgow on 4 October 2018.

Any questions should be directed to Rosemary Ward, Director, The Gaelic Books Council on 0141 337 6211.

The very best of luck!