Skip to main content

The network for trade,
training and development 

19 November 2018

Fallow by Daniel Shand wins the Betty Trask Prize 2017

21 June 2017

Fallow by Daniel Shand (published by Sandstone Press in Dingwall) has won the Betty Trask Prize 2017. Betty Trask left a bequest to the Society of Authors in 1983 to fund prizes for first novels written by authors under the age of 35 in a traditional or romantic, but not experimental, style.

At the heart of this tense and at times darkly comic novel is the relationship between two brothers bound by a terrible crime. Paul and Mikey are on the run, apparently from the press surrounding their house after Mikey's release from prison. His crime - child murder, committed when he was a boy. As they travel, they move from one disturbing scenario to the next, eventually involving themselves with a bizarre religious cult.The power between the brothers begins to shift, and we realise there is more to their history than Paul has allowed us to know.

Daniel Shand was born in Kirkcaldy in 1989 and currently lives in Edinburgh, where he is a PhD candidate at the University of Edinburgh and a Scottish literature tutor. 

The £10,000 Betty Trask Prize was one of the awards presented at the Society of Authors Prizes ceremony in London on 20 June 2017. A total of £94,000 in prizes was announced for fiction, poetry, travel and historical biography.