Skip to main content

The network for trade,
training and development 

19 November 2018

How to Stop Time wins a Readers Award 2017

22 November 2017

The Books Are My Bag Readers Awards are the only book awards with shortlists curated by bookshops - and the only major awards voted for by booklovers.

Now in their second year, the awards included two new categories for books written for younger readers, alongside six adult categories. Seven of the shortlists were chosen by booksellers across the UK and Ireland: Popular Fiction, Novel, Non-Fiction, Middle Grade (7-11), Young Adult (12-18), Breakthrough Author and Beautiful Book. The Readers Choice Award - nominated and voted for entirely by booklovers -  completes the set.

The 2017 Awards announced on 21 November saw Matt Haig enjoy his second year as a Readers Awards winner after taking home the Non-Fiction Award in 2016; this year he returned to pick up the award for Popular Fiction for his most recent novel How to Stop Time (Canongate Books).

There was also a double win for Adam Kay, whose memoir This is Going to Hurt: Secret Diaries of a Junior Doctor (Picador) took home both the Non-Fiction Award and the coveted Readers Choice Award.

For the full list of winners, see the National Book Tokens Awards website