Skip to main content

The network for trade,
training and development 

19 April 2019

Iain MacRae wins the Donald Meek Award 2017

6 October 2017

Taigh Sheonachain by Iain MacRae was announced as the 2017 winner in Glasgow on Thursday 5 October 2017.

The six titles on the 2017 shortlist were:

  • Am Balach Beag a dh' èisteadh aig Dorsan by Alison Lang
  • Beum-Sgèithe by Eoghan Stewart
  • Dìoghaltas by Iain F. MacLeod (Acair)
  • Eachdraidh Beatha by Alison Dix
  • Èiginn Ùisdein by Morag Ann MacNeil
  • Taigh Sheonachain by Iain MacRae

Funded by Creative Scotland and Bòrd na Gàidhlig and administered by The Gaelic Books Council, the Donald Meek Award is an annual literary competition which seeks to encourage new and creative Scottish Gaelic writing by emerging and established Gaelic writers.

The competition is open to authors of new Scottish Gaelic creative works - poetry, short stories, novels or drama.

For details of the award, see The Gaelic Books Council website.


For more news about prizes, see Prizes and Awards in our Publishing Calendar.