Skip to main content

The network for trade,
training and development 

Kazuo Ishiguro awarded the 2017 Nobel Prize in Literature

5 October 2017

The Nobel Prize in Literature for 2017 was awarded on 5 October to Kazuo Ishiguro "who, in novels of great emotional force, has uncovered the abyss beneath our illusory sense of connection with the world". For first reactions to the announcement, see the BBC article of 5 October and Alison Flood's piece in The Guardian also 5 October.

The London-based writer has written seven novels - all published by Faber & Faber:

  • A Pale View of Hills (1982, Winifred Holtby Prize)
  • An Artist of the Floating World (1986, Whitbread Book of the Year Award, Premio Scanno, shortlisted for the Booker Prize)
  • The Remains of the Day (1989, winner of the Booker Prize)
  • The Unconsoled (1995, winner of the Cheltenham Prize)
  • When We Were Orphans (2000, shortlisted for the Booker Prize)
  • Never Let Me Go (2005, Corine Internationaler Buchpreis, Serono Literary Prize, Casino de Santiago European Novel Award, shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize) and
  • The Buried Giant (2015).

The Faber website notes that The Remains of the Day and Never Let Me Go have each sold in excess of 1,000,000 copies in Faber editions alone, and both were adapted into highly acclaimed films.


The Nobel Prize is an international award administered by the Nobel Foundation in Stockholm, Sweden, and based on the fortune of Alfred Nobel, Swedish inventor and entrepreneur. In 1968, Sveriges Riksbank established The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel, founder of the Nobel Prize. There are six categories (Chemistry, Economic Sciences, Literature, Medicine, Peace, and Physics) and each Prize consists of a medal, a personal diploma, and a cash award.

The Nobel Prize in Literature is awarded to "the person who shall have produced in the field of literature the most outstanding work in an ideal direction". It has been awarded since 1901 but some years there were no awards. No Scottish writer has been awarded this prize.

For more about the Nobel Prize in Literature including details of all the Laureates, see the Nobel Prize website.


For more news about prizes, see Prizes and Awards in our Publishing Calendar.