Skip to main content

The network for trade,
training and development 

19 November 2018

Kelpies 2017 shortlist

21 June 2017

Independent Edinburgh publisher Floris Books is delighted to announce the shortlist for the Kelpies Prize 2017. The Kelpies Prize, which is now being awarded for the thirteenth time, recognises the finest new Scottish children's writing for readers aged 8-14.

The shortlisted titles (alphabetically by author) are:

  • Lottie Larkin's Magical Mishap by Kate Bolden
  • David and the Surprisingly Smart-o-saurus by Debbie Cannon
  • The Girl Who Lost Her Shadow by Emily Ilett

For the 2017 prize, authors were asked to submit stories for two different categories, Kelpies (8-12) and KelpiesEdge (11-14).

This year's shortlisted writers are Kate Bolden and Emily Ilett (both based in Glasgow), and Debbie Cannon (from Edinburgh). 

Kate Bolden's fresh and funny adventure set in Glasgow's hidden magical streets is a witty, fantastical race against time. Debbie Cannon's comic entry is fun-packed and full of laughs. It depicts an 11-year-old boy's unlikely meeting with a dinosaur. Finally, Emily Ilett's The Girl Who Lost Her Shadow is a story about bravery, the power of friendship, and being strong enough to ask for help when we really need it.

Eleanor Collins, Senior Commissioning Editor for Floris Books commented: "The Kelpies Prize continues to build as a major award for writing for children. Once again this year we have had more entries than ever before. The judging process was extremely difficult due to the high standard of work submitted, and we are delighted with our strong shortlist for 2017."

The winner of the Kelpies Prize 2017 will be announced at a ceremony at the Edinburgh International Book Festival on 23rd August. The winning author will receive a £2,000 cash prize and a publishing deal with Floris Books' Kelpies imprint.

Floris Books launched the Kelpies Prize in 2004 with support from the Scottish Arts Council, now Creative Scotland, to encourage and reward new Scottish writing for children. Previous winners include Scottish Children's Book Award winners Janis Mackay and Alex McCall (the youngest writer ever to win the Kelpies Prize), and the prize also launched the writing careers of Kindle bestseller Daniela Sacerdoti and the multi-award-winning Lari Don.