Skip to main content

The network for trade,
training and development 

19 November 2018

McIlvanney Prize 2017 longlist

22 June 2017

Crime fiction, non-fiction and anthologies of short crime stories are all eligible for The McIlvanney Prize (formerly Deanston Scottish Crime Book of the Year).

Scottish roots are a must for competition applications: authors must either be born in Scotland, live there or set their books there.

The 2017 longlist was announced on 20 June:

  • Want You Gone by Chris Brookmyre  (Little, Brown)
  • Cold Earth by Ann Cleeves (Macmillan)
  • Perfect Remains by  Helen Fields (Harper Collins)
  • Out of Bounds by Val McDermid  (Little, Brown)
  • Cross Purpose by Claire MacLeary (Contraband)
  • The Long Drop by Denise Mina (Harvill Secker)
  • Games People Play by Owen Mullen (Bloodhound Books)
  • Rather Be the Devil by Ian Rankin (Orion)
  • Murderabilia by Craig Robertson (Simon and Schuster)
  • The Quiet Death of Thomas Quaid by Craig Russell (Quercus)
  • How to Kill Friends and  Implicate People by Jay Stringer (Thomas & Mercer)

The finalists will be revealed at the beginning of September and the winner announced at the Bloody Scotland Opening Gala reception on Friday 8 September.

For more information on this prize, see the Bloody Scotland website