Skip to main content

The network for trade,
training and development 

20 August 2019

McIlvanney Prize winner 2018

21 September 2018

Congratulations to Liam McIlvanney whose novel The Quaker was announced as the 2018 winner of the Bloody Scotland McIlvanney Prize for Scottish Crime Book of the Year.

The judges of the McIlvanney Prize this year were Craig Sisterson, Alison Flood, and comedian, Susan Calman who said of the winner:

 'The Quaker was, for me, the stand out book from the longlist. It's one of those novels that as soon as I finished it, I looked forward to reading it again. Not only did I love the evocative recreation of Glasgow but the characters created were refreshing and surprising. It was such a pleasure to read.'

In 2016 the prize was renamed in memory of Liam's father, William McIlvanney, the much loved Godfather of Tartan Noir.

The 2018 shortlisted books were:

The winner was announced at the Gala opening of Bloody Scotland - Scotland's International Crime Writing Festival - on 21 September.