Skip to main content

The network for trade,
training and development 

20 August 2019

Poverty Safari shortlisted for Orwell Prize 2018

19 May 2018

Poverty Safari by Darren McGarvey aka Loki (Luath Press) is one of six books shortlisted for the  Orwell Book Prize 2018. People from deprived communities all across Britain feel misunderstood and unheard. Darren McGarvey gives voice to their feelings and concerns, and anger that is spilling over. The Scotsman of 22 May 2018 has an article by the author on writing the book and about being on the shortlist: see A surreal journey from my wit's end to an Orwell Prize nomination.

Winter by Ali Smith (Hamish Hamilton) has also been shortlisted.

The winner will be announced on 25 June 2018 (the 115th anniversary of the birth of George Orwell).