Skip to main content

The network for trade,
training and development 

18 June 2019

Poverty Safari wins the Orwell Prize 2018

26 June 2018

Poverty Safari by Darren McGarvey aka Loki (Luath Press) is the winner of the Orwell Book Prize 2018. People from deprived communities all across Britain feel misunderstood and unheard. Darren McGarvey gives voice to their feelings and concerns, and anger that is spilling over.

The Scotsman of 22 May 2018 has an article by the author on writing the book and about being on the shortlist: see A surreal journey from my wit's end to an Orwell Prize nomination.

The book's publisher Gavin MacDougall of Luath Press is quoted in Alison Flood's article in The Guardian of 25 June 2018 saying he had been "convinced that this book can and will make a real difference to people's lives" ever since McGarvey first came to see him.

A new edition of the book will be published on 6 August by Picador in partnership with Luath Press. See The Bookseller of 25 June 2018.

Winter by Ali Smith (Hamish Hamilton) was also shortlisted.

The winner was announced on 25 June 2018 (the 115th anniversary of the birth of George Orwell).