Skip to main content

The network for trade,
training and development 

23 September 2018

Saltire Publishers of the Year 2016 announced

24 November 2016

Saltire Society Publisher of the Year 2016

Many congratulations to Floris Books - the winner of the 2016 Saltire Publisher of the Year Award. Floris Books is Scotland's largest  children's publisher. They've had a stellar year; their staff has expanded to 11 and their sales and international rights deals have risen concomitantly. It's been an award winning year too with their books winning the Blue Peter Best Story Award, the Scottish Children's Book Award and the Scholastic Laugh Out Loud award. All this in the year that they celebrated their 40th birthday. Their delighted Publisher Katy Lockwood-Holmes picked up the award and paid fulsome tribute to the talented and hardworking team at Floris Books.

As part of the Saltire Society's 80th anniversary celebrations, Floris Books was awarded a fully funded placement on the renowned Yale Publishing Course, a week-long intensive classroom-based course hosted on the beautiful and historic Yale University Campus in New Haven, Connecticut in the USA.

Edinburgh-based publisher Birlinn received a special commendation.

Five publishers were shortlisted for the prestigious Saltire Publisher of the Year Award:


Saltire Society Emerging Publisher of the Year 2016 sponsored by Publishing Scotland

Floris Books had another award to celebrate as Leah McDowell, their Design and Production Manager, won the inaugural Saltire Emerging Publisher of the Year Award. In her role at Floris Books, Leah has brought fresh ideas, innovative and creative processes, and strong leadership to her team of three. As co-Chair of SYP Scotland she launched its mentoring scheme and, through tireless networking, strengthened SYP Scotland's links around the UK.

Five publishers were shortlisted two of whom were from Glasgow-based Freight Books (the 2015 Saltire Publisher of the Year).