Skip to main content

The network for trade,
training and development 

23 June 2018

Saltire Society Literary Awards 2017

14 March 2017

Widely recognised as Scotland's most prestigious book awards, the Saltire Literary Awards represent a long-standing commitment from the Saltire Society to celebrate and support Scottish literary achievement and are run entirely on the basis of the voluntary commitment of the experts who make up the judging panel.

There are six categories:

  • Non-Fiction Book of the Year
  • Fiction Book of the Year
  • First Book of the Year
  • Research Book of the Year
  • History Book of the Year and
  • Poetry Book of the Year.

The winner of each book category will receive a cash prize of £2,000 and go on to be considered for the top prize of £5,000, awarded to the Saltire Society Book of the Year.

The 2017 awards are now open for submissions. Completed Entry Forms must be received by 12 NOON ON MONDAY 17 APRIL 2017: see the Saltire Society website. For any queries please contact the Saltire Society on 0131 556 1836.

2016 winners

The 2016 winners were announced on 24 November at a ceremony at Central Hall in Edinburgh. The Bonniest Companie by Kathleen Jamie (Picador) won Book of the Year 2016 and His Bloody Project by Graeme Macrae Burnet (Contraband) won Scottish Fiction Book of the Year. Other winners included Expecting by Chitra Ramaswamy (Saraband), joint winner of First Book of the Year, and Set Adrift Upon the World by James Hunter (Birlinn Ltd) which won History Book of the Year.

For the full list of winners, see our news item of 24 November 2016.


For more information on the awards generally, see the Saltire Society website.