Skip to main content

The network for trade,
training and development 

21 April 2019

The Donald Meek Award shortlist 2018

11 September 2018

Funded by Creative Scotland and Bòrd na Gàidhlig and administered by The Gaelic Books Council, the Donald Meek Award is an annual literary competition which seeks to encourage new and creative Scottish Gaelic writing by emerging and established Gaelic writers.

The competition is open to authors of new Scottish Gaelic creative works - poetry, short stories, novels or drama.

2018 Award

Six new Gaelic books have been shortlisted for the 2018 Donald Meek Award. The Gaelic Book of the Year will be presented with the Donald Meek Award, and additional literary prizes funded by Bòrd na Gàidhlig will also be awarded. The prize-winners will be announced at a special reception in the National Piping Centre in Glasgow on Thursday 4 October 2018.

Rosemary Ward, Director of the Gaelic Books Council said:

"We are delighted that the Donald Meek Award for Gaelic literature continues to grow and attract a high calibre of entries year on year. We are very grateful to Bòrd na Gàidhlig for providing the necessary support to extend the range of literary prizes that recognise excellence in new Gaelic writing. We received 16 entries representing a broad range of literary genres this year. The Gaelic Book Council is particularly grateful to the judges who read through all the submissions and managed to agree on those books that were worthy of being placed on the shortlist. We are particularly pleased to see new Gaelic writers taking an interest in the competition and we wish everyone on the shortlist the very best of luck."

The following six books have been shortlisted for the Donald Meek Award 2018:

  • An Còta Dathach agus Deich Sgeulachdan Eile by Duncan Gillies
  • Bàrdachd mo Bhaile by Rody Gorman
  • Brìgh's Spiorad by Marion F Morrison
  • Còig Duilleagan na Seamraig by Roddy MacLean
  • Constabal Murdo by Angus Peter Campbell
  • Nàdar De by Peter MacKay