Skip to main content

The network for trade,
training and development 

23 June 2018

The Gathering Tide wins The Striding Edge Prize

8 July 2016

The Gathering Tide by Karen Lloyd (Saraband) has won The Striding Edge prize (a Lakeland Book Award) and was runner up for the Lakeland Book of the Year Award 2016. Embarking on a series of walks that take in beguiling landscapes and ever-changing seascapes, Karen Lloyd tells the compelling stories of the places, people, wildlife and history of Morecambe Bay.

The Round: In Bob Graham's Footsteps by Steve Chilton (Sandstone Press) was also shortlisted for the Lakeland Book of the Year Award. It is not only a history of the Bob Graham Round, but also an exploration of the what, why and how of the classic fell endurance challenge. The Round was also shortlisted for The Great Outdoors Magazine's Outdoor Book of the Year.

The Lakeland awards were judged by author and columnist Hunter Davies, broadcaster and writer Eric Robson and BBC News broadcaster Fiona Armstrong. For more on the award announcements, see the News and Star of 6 July 2016.


For a round up of recent prize and award announcements, see our Prizes and Awards listings.