Skip to main content

The network for trade,
training and development 

19 November 2018

The Outrun shortlisted for PEN Ackerley Prize 2017

15 June 2017

English PEN has announced the shortlist for the PEN Ackerley Prize 2017 for memoir and life writing.

The shortlisted titles are:

The PEN Ackerley Prize was established in memory of Joe Randolph Ackerley (1896-1967), the author and long-time literary editor of The Listener magazine. The prize is awarded annually to a literary autobiography of outstanding merit, written by an author of British nationality and published in the UK in the previous year. The PEN Ackerley prize is judged by biographer and historian Peter Parker (chair), writer and painter Colin Spencer, author Georgina Hammick and writer and critic Claire Harman. The winner receives a cheque for £3,000.

The winner will be announced on Wednesday 5 July 2017 at a special prize event at the Free Word Centre, 60 Farringdon Road, London, EC1R 3GA.

The Outrun by Scottish writer Amy Liptrot is published by Edinburgh-based Canongate Books. It won the 2016 Wainwright Prize and was shortlisted for the 2016 Wellcome Prize and 2017 Ondaatje Prize as well as being a Sunday Times Top Ten Bestseller.