Skip to main content

2021 Barbellion Prize longlist announced

Three books from members feature among the eight books on the 2021 Barbellion Prize longlist:

  • The Coward by Jarred McGinnis (Canongate)
  • Duck Feet by Ely Percy (Monstrous Regiment)
  • Elena Knows by Claudia Piñeiro, translated by Frances Riddle (Charco Press).

The 2021 Shortlist will be announced in January 2022.

The Barbellion Prize is a book prize dedicated to the furtherance of ill and disabled voices in writing. The prize is awarded annually to an author whose work has best represented the experience of chronic illness and/or disability.

Credit for The Barbellion Prize logo goes to Norah Al Shammari.