Skip to main content

Winners of the Gaelic Literature Awards 2022

Prizes were awarded in four categories for books published between 1 May 2021 and 30 April 2022, and also for unpublished manuscripts for adults and for children/young people, at Cottiers Theatre, Glasgow, on Thursday 15 September 2022.

Best Book for Children/Young People

  • Winner: Dubh às – Sylvia Hehir, translated by Johan Smith (Garmoran Publishing)
  • Highly commended: Caiptean Cora – Lana Pheaton, illustrated by Alice Watson (Theatre Gu Leòr)

The Derick Thomson Prize for Best Poetry Book (sponsored by The Scottish Poetry Library)

  • Winner: Eadar Ceòl is Coròna: Bàrdachd is òrain – Dòmhnall Eachann Meek (CLÀR)
  • Highlycommended: Fear de Mhuinntir Sholais / A Sollas Man – Fred Macaulay (Acair)

The Highland Society of London Prize for Best Fiction Book

  • Winner: Constabal Murdo 2: Murdo ann am Marseille – Angus Peter Campbell (Luath Press)

The Donald Meek Award for Best Non-fiction Book

  • Winner: Ainmean Tuineachaidh Leòdhais / The Settlement Names of Lewis – Richard A.V. Cox (ClannTuirc)

Best Unpublished Manuscript for Children/Young People (in association with Acair)

  • Winner: An Cat Coigreach – June C. Ghreumach

Best Unpublished Manuscript for Adults

  • Winner: Am Measg Luaithrean Beò – Robbie MacLeòid
  • Highly commended: Daol am Shùil – Calum MacFhionghain

The Gaelic Books Council congratulate the winners, and we offer our sincere thanks to all the people and organisations who have made this year’s Gaelic Literature Awards possible, including Creative Scotland, Bòrd naGàidhlig, the Highland Society of London, the Scottish Poetry Library, Acair, Donald Meek, and the family of the late Professor Derick Thomson. The shortlists for each category can be found on the Gaelic Books Council website.