Skip to main content

Publishing Scotland launches its 2023 International Publishing Fellowship Programme

Publishing Scotland’s 2023 International Publishing Fellowship Programme is now open for applications. Since its inaugural launch in 2015, the Programme has brought together 54 publishers from 19 countries worldwide, spanning five continents. The Fellowship takes place during a week in August to coincide with the Edinburgh International Book Festival and the world-famous Edinburgh Festival and Fringe. All travel and accommodation costs are paid.

Part-funded by Creative Scotland, the Fellowship Programme aims to broaden the reach and influence of books coming out of Scotland, through developing relationships between the international publishing community and the Scottish sector.

Sarah Cantin, Executive Editor at St. Martin’s Press and 2022 Fellow, said: ‘Robust, diverse, committed, innovative, creative, collaborative – I felt a clear sense of collegiality between agents, publishers, and authors. I came away from the Fellowship with a clear idea of what the Scottish literary sensibility is, and a more nuanced picture of what original and inspiring publishing is occurring within Scotland.’

Marion Sinclair, Chief Executive of Publishing Scotland, said: ‘Now more than ever, it’s vital that we maintain our international connections and ambition. The book world is fuelled by relationships that we make through book fairs, selling rights and licensing, and the Fellowship scheme allows us to develop and deepen those relationships between the Scottish publishing industry and the rest of the world.’

Delayed due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the Programme’s sixth year took place in August 2022, with 9 leading international industry figures from around the world arriving in Scotland. The Fellows’ week-long itinerary included meetings with Scottish publishers and agents, market presentations, networking and festival events and more, across Edinburgh, Glasgow and Inverness.

Publishing Scotland invites applications from interested publishers until Tuesday 31 January 2023. For more information and to apply, see About the Publishing Fellowship.

The 2022 Fellows are pictured above from left to right: Jean Mattern; Dr. Cordelia Borchardt; Andrea Stratilova; Sarah Cantin; Esther Hendriks; Talia Marcos; Nicolás Rodriguez Galvis; Mark Tauber; and Peter Joseph. Photograph by Chris Scott – Chrisdonia.