Skip to main content

Scottish Mountaineering Press wins BBA Small Press of the Year Scotland 2023

The British Book Awards has unveiled its 10 Small Press of the Year winners including the Scotland winner: Scottish Mountaineering Press.

Selected by the judges from 48 finalists announced in February, the award (sponsored by CPI Books) celebrates the independent presses delivering diverse, innovative and risk-taking publishing. The 10 presses will now contest for the overall Small Press of the Year and Independent Publisher of the Year. The winners will be announced at the BBA ceremony in London on 15 May 2023.

The 10 Small Press of the Year winners are:

Bluemoose Books (North England)

Boldwood Books (London – joint winner)

David Fickling Books (South-east England)

Firefly Press (Wales)

Fitzcarraldo Editions (London – joint winner)

Little Toller Books (South-West England)

New Island Books (Island of Ireland)

Scottish Mountaineering Press (Scotland)

SRL Publishing (South East England)

Sweet Cherry Publishing (Midlands)

For more on the winners, see The Bookseller website.

See also Ten Small Press of the Year winners praised for ‘outcompeting’ bigger publishers by Lauren Brown in The Bookseller 15 March 2023.

The six Scotland finalists from which Scottish Mountaineering Press was chosen as the winner are all Publishing Scotland members: 404 Ink | Charco Press | Rymour Books | Scotland Street Press | Scottish Mountaineering Press | The Wee Book Company. Another member – Saraband – was a finalist in the North England category.