Skip to main content

The network for trade,
training and development 

27 September 2020



Consolidated Accounts 2018-2019

Our most recent consolidated accounts can be downloaded as a PDF: consolidated accounts 2018-2019.


Publishing Scotland's Articles of Association

Adopted by Special Resolution dated 9 December 2015

Publishing Scotland was incorporated in 2007. Its Articles of Association (PDF) were amended in 2015.


Annual Report 2018-2019

Our most recent annual report can be downloaded as a PDF: annual report 2018-2019.


Publishing Scotland's Board

In 2019 three new Publisher members were elected (Ann Crawford, Laura Jones and Samuel McDowell) and a new Network member (Miriam Rune) was appointed unopposed. The Publishing Scotland Board has up to 12 members: five directors drawn from the publisher membership; two from the network membership; and up to four co-opted members plus the Chief Executive. The Board meets approximately four times a year.
According to our revised Memorandum and Articles of Association, any directors who have served for a period of three years shall retire from office at the AGM but shall then be eligible for re-election for a further three years.   

There is provision to co-opt up to four Board members from outside the publishing sector.

The current Board (as from November 2019)

  • James Crawford: Chair
  • Kate Gibb, Canongate Books (PUBLISHER): Treasurer
  • Davinder Bedi, BookSource (CO-OPTED)
  • Simon Brown, Anderson Strathern (CO-OPTED)
  • Chani McBain, Floris Books (PUBLISHER)
  • Ann Crawford, National Galleries of Scotland Publishing (PUBLISHER)
  • Laura Jones, 404 Ink (PUBLISHER)
  • Samuel McDowell, Charco Press (PUBLISHER)
  • Fiona McParland, APS (NETWORK)
  • Miriam Rune, Miriam Rune PR (NETWORK)
  • Marion Sinclair, Chief Executive, Publishing Scotland


There are also two committees: Trade and Marketing and Training

The members of the Trade and Marketing Committee are:

  • Fiona Brownlee, Brownlee Donald Associates
  • Naomi Farmer, Edinburgh University Press
  • Suzanne Kennedy, Floris Books
  • Kirstin Lamb, Barrington Stoke
  • Jethro Lennox, HarperCollins
  • Nadine Luchsinger, Canongate Books
  • Ceris Jones, Sandstone Press
  • Gavin MacDougall, Luath Press
  • Marion Sinclair, Chief Executive, Publishing Scotland
  • Vikki Reilly, Marketing and Events Manager, Publishing Scotland


The members of the Training Committee are:

  • Ann Crawford, National Galleries of Scotland
  • Leah McDowell, Floris Books
  • Sarah Mitchell, HarperCollins
  • Susan Pacitti, Glasgow Museums Publishing
  • Christine Wilson, Historic Environment Scotland
  • Marion Sinclair, Chief Executive, Publishing Scotland
  • Joan Lyle, Training and Information Manager, Publishing Scotland



Publishing Scotland is a registered charity (SC009404), governed by a main Board of Trustees with responsibility for overall policy setting and financial matters. We are also a company limited by guarantee (SC317586).



Publishing Scotland acknowledges the generous support from Creative Scotland, and is also funded partly by annual subscriptions from the membership, and by earned income from activities and revenue from the trading subsidiary, BookSource.