Skip to main content

The network for trade,
training and development 

09 July 2020

404 Ink founders shortlisted for Kim Scott Walwyn Prize 2019

1 May 2019

Congratulations to 404 Ink founders Heather McDaid and Laura Jones who are shortlisted for the 2019 Kim Scott Walwyn Prize. They were recognised for their "exceptional work". Judges said: "They are a fantastic example of innovative thinking and have contributed to the thriving of the Scottish publishing scene greatly, putting transparency and new voices at the heart of what they do."

The full shortlist is:

  • Aimée Felone - Knights Of co-founder
  • Aki Schilz - The Literary Consultancy director
  • Crystal Mahey-Morgan - Own It! co-founder
  • Heather McDaid and Laura Jones - 404 Ink co-founders
  • Ola Gotkowska - Nosy Crow contracts manager

This year saw a record number of nominations and the organisers said the shortlist demonstrates the "dynamism of the independent sector and the power of entrepreneurism whilst being the prize's most diverse shortlist ever".

The prize honours the life and career of Kim Scott Walwyn, who was publishing director at Oxford University Press and who died in 2002 at the age of 45. The award is run in partnership with the Society of Young Publishers.

The winner will be announced on Tuesday 28 May 2019.

For more on the award, see the Kim Scott Walwyn Prize website and for more on the shortlist, see The Bookseller of 1 May 2019.