Skip to main content

The network for trade,
training and development 

10 July 2020

Bookbug Picture Book Prize winner 2019

16 January 2019

Scottish Book Trust  announced on 16 January 2019 that the winner of the 2019 Bookbug Picture Book Prize is One Button Benny by Alan Windram and illustrated by Chloe Holwill-Hunter (Little Door Books). Over 17,000 votes were cast for the award by post and online.

The award is run by Scottish Book Trust, the national charity changing lives through reading and writing, with support from Browns Books for Students. The Bookbug Picture Book Prize celebrates the most popular new picture books by Scottish authors or illustrators. The runners-up were Eric Makes a Splash by Emily MacKenzie (Bloomsbury) and I am Bat by Morag Hood (Two Hoots Books).

Alan Windram is an author and co-founder of Little Door Books, which has published work from Vivian French, Emily Dodd and Barry Hutchison. Earlier this year, Little Door Books was highly commended at the Saltire Literary Awards in their Emerging Publisher of the Year category.

A free copy of each of the three books on the shortlist was gifted to every Primary 1 child during Book Week Scotland 2018 (19 to 25 November), in the Bookbug P1 Family Bag.

The winner was chosen by children across Scotland, aged between three years and seven years old, who voted for their favourite by submitting a class vote online or at home, via the Scottish Book Trust website.

Alan Windram said: "I don't really know quite what to say, I am so thrilled, excited and humbled that so many children have voted for my book with Chloe to win this fabulous prize. Like Benny, I am absolutely over the moon. Congratulations go to Morag and Emily on their fantastic picture books and thank you so much to everyone who took Benny to their hearts and voted for One Button Benny to win. We are all different, we are all special and we all have something to give."

The winning book was announced in an exclusive video to schools and registered groups on 16 January 2019. Shortlisted authors and illustrators will receive £500 per book, and the winner will receive £3,000.