Skip to main content

The network for trade,
training and development 

26 July 2021

British Book Awards open for submissions

11 January 2021

The British Book Awards (a.k.a. the Nibbies) are now open for submissions, with the winners to be inaugurated at a virtual ceremony on 13 May 2021, followed by a summer party to celebrate the shortlists, winners and wider trade. The annual celebration of publishers, booksellers, agents, authors and illustrators from across the United Kingdom and Ireland is now in its 31st year and earlier this year was named "Event of the Year" at the PPA's Independent Publisher Awards.

Independent Bookshop and Small Press awards are also open for entries, with the regional winners to be announced on Wednesday 17 February and Friday 19 February respectively. The overall winners from these categories will be announced at the May event, and also go on to contest the Book Retailer of the Year and Independent Publisher of the Year awards. The Export Awards will also once again be open for entries, with the winners of these also to be announced on 13 May.

This year sees two new categories: Designer of the Year and the Pageturner award for popular fiction

The deadline for entries is Friday 5 February 2021

For full details and to enter, see the British Book Awards website.