Skip to main content

The network for trade,
training and development 

01 June 2020

British Book Awards winners 2019

14 May 2019

Huge congratulations to British Book Awards 2019 winners Golden Hare Books and Noor Hemani. Golden Hare Books won the Independent Bookshop of the Year and Noor Hemani, of Lighthouse, won the Individual Bookseller of the Year. It was a vintage year for Scottish bookshops with The Edinburgh Bookshop and The Mainstreet Trading Company commended in their categories too.

The awards are organised by The Bookseller and the winners were announced at a ceremony in London hosted by Lauren Laverne on 13 May 2019. For a full report of the winners, see The Bookseller 13 May 2019.


Congratulations too to those shortlisted including: Edinburgh-based Canongate nominated for Independent Publisher of the Year (won by Faber) and Canongate's Publishing Director Francis Bickmore who was on the Editor of the Year shortlist (won by Rebecca Hill of Usborne).

Historic Environment Scotland and Collins Learning were shortlisted in the Academic, Educational and Professional Publisher of the Year category (won  by Emerald Publishing). 

HarperCollins was shortlisted for Publisher of the Year (won by Penguin General), while HarperCollins imprint HQ and HarperCollins Children's Books were shortlisted for Imprint of the Year (won by Picador) and Children's Publisher of the Year (won by Nosy Crow) respectively.

There was also a strong showing from Scottish booksellers with:

  • Noor Hemani, Lighthouse (who won), and Jonathan Taylor, Golden Hare Books, on the Individual Bookseller of the Year shortlist

  • The Mainstreet Trading Company, commended for the Marketing Strategy of the Year for its 10th Birthday Campaign

  • Golden Hare Books, winner of the Independent Bookshop of the Year category

  • Golden Hare Books and The Edinburgh Bookshop were shortlisted for Children's Bookseller of the Year and the latter was commended.

The book winners were:

  • Normal People by Sally Rooney (Faber) - Book of the Year and Fiction Book of the Year 
  • Lullaby by  Leila Slimani, translated by Sam Taylor (Faber) - Debut of the Year
  • Becoming by Michelle Obama (Viking) - Non-Fiction Book of the Year and Audio Book of the Year
  • The Ice Monster by David Walliams, illustrated by Tony Ross (HarperCollins Children's Books) - Children's Fiction Book of the Year
  • You Are Awesome by Matthew Syed, illustrated by Toby Triumph (Wren & Rook) - Children's Illustrated and Non-Fiction category
  • Our House by Louise Candlish (Simon & Schuster) - Crime & Thriller
  • Bosh!  by Henry Firth and Ian Theasby (HQ) - Non-Fiction: Lifestyle

Lee Child won Author of the Year and Judith Kerr was awarded Illustrator of the Year.