Skip to main content

The network for trade,
training and development 

02 March 2021

Costa Book Awards 2020 open for entries

10 June 2020

Launched in 1971, the Costa Book Awards is one of the UK's most prestigious and popular book prizes and celebrates the most enjoyable books of the year by writers resident in the UK and Ireland.

Uniquely, the prize has five categories - First NovelNovelBiographyPoetry and  Children's Book - with one of the five winning books selected as the overall Costa Book of the year and each category is judged separately by a panel of three judges per category. The Costa Book of the Year is then chosen by a nine-member panel which includes representatives from the original panels who are joined by other well-known people who love reading.

Books are entered by publishers and entry for the Awards closes at the end of June each year. The author of the Costa Book of the Year receives a cheque for £30,000, presented at an awards ceremony at the end of January.

Publishers wishing to enter a book or books should contact the prize organisers for a form and submit the entry or entries by Tuesday 30 June 2020. 

For details and to enter, see the Costa Book Awards website.