Skip to main content

The network for trade,
training and development 

17 January 2021

Gaelic Literature Awards 2020 winners

18 September 2020

The Gaelic Books Council (Comhairle nan Leabhraichean) announced  the winners of the Gaelic Literature Awards 2020 on 17 September 2020. The digital event was live streamed on YouTube and you can catch-up on it here.

Congratulations to all the winners and to publisher Acair who publishes three of them! The prizes were awarded in six categories, for titles published between 1 May 2019 and 30 April 2020, and for unpublished manuscripts. The winners are:


Best Fiction Book (Highland Society of London Prize)

An Tiortach Beag agus Sgeulachdan Eile, Morag Ann MacNeil (Acair)


Best Poetry Book (Derick Thomson Prize)

Cluaintean Uaine, George L. Murray and Donald Gillies (Acair)


Best Non-fiction Book (Donald Meek Prize)

The Highest Apple / An Ubhal As Àirde, ed. Wilson McLeod & Michael Newton (Francis Boutle)
Seòl mo Bheatha, Donald E. Meek (CLÀR)


Best Book for Children/Young People

Mo Ghranaidh agus an Losgann Mòr, Marie C. Macaulay, (Acair)


Best Unpublished Manuscript for Children/Young People

Ailig agus an Dalek Gàidhlig, Shelagh Campbell


Best Unpublished Manuscript for Adults

Linne Dhomhainn, Alistair Paul