Skip to main content

The network for trade,
training and development 

05 December 2021

Jenny Brown elected as RSL Honorary Fellow

6 July 2021

On 6 July 2021, the Royal Society of Literature elected 44 new Fellows and Honorary Fellows, and awarding of the Benson Medal, for 2021.

Many congratulations to them all and particularly to Jenny Brown of Jenny Brown Associates who becomes an Honorary Fellow. In her video accompanying the announcement, Jenny mentioned that she is particularly thrilled as only a handful of literary agents have been elected and also there are relatively few Fellows from Scotland.

New RSL Fellows for 2021 are: Anne Applebaum, Zawe Ashton, Sally Bayley, Homi Bhabha, Anna Burns, Cressida Cowell, Robert Crawford, Margreta de Grazia, Edmund de Waal, Will Eaves, Reni Eddo-Lodge, Patrick Gale, Vesna Goldsworthy, Jen Hadfield, Jeremy Hooker, Alison Light, Justin Marozzi, Tessa McWatt, Gita Mehta, Maggie O'Farrell, Peter Pomerantsev, David Runciman, S.F. Said, Anne Sebba, Jean Sprackland, Rebecca Stott, Emma Thompson, Verna Wilkins and Gary Younge.

New RSL Honorary Fellows for 2021 are: Clare Alexander, Jenny Brown, Gill Coleridge, Jon Cook, Jonathan Douglas, Victoria Gray, Sarah Hosking, Sharmaine Lovegrove, Christopher MacLehose, Alastair Niven, Ruthie Petrie, Simon Prosser, Fiammetta Rocco and Gaby Wood.

This year's Benson Medallist, for exceptional contribution to literature, is Alastair Niven.

For more information, see the RSL website.