Skip to main content

The network for trade,
training and development 

29 July 2021

Kelpies Prizes shortlists announced

25 February 2021

Almost a year later than anticipated due to Covid, Edinburgh-based publisher Floris Books has announced the shortlists for the delayed Kelpies Prizes for Writing and Illustration 2020. The prizes aim to recognise new Scottish writing and illustration for children.

The largest children's publisher in Scotland revamped the prizes in 2018 with a new focus on developing and nurturing talent in Scotland. Entrants to the 2020 prizes were asked to provide a selection of writing samples or illustrations suitable for a children's book, which showcased their range and creativity.

The Kelpies Prize for Writing Shortlist

  • Finola Burke (Dundee)
  • E. Daly (Edinburgh)
  • Fiona McKeracher (Glasgow)
  • Jude Reid (Glasgow)

Find out more about the shortlisters and read a sample of their work on the Kelpies website.

The Kelpies Prize for Illustration Shortlist

  • Leanne Goodall (Aberdeen)
  • Abi Pate (Edinburgh)
  • Sandra Simons (Glasgow)
  • Evonne Summers (Edinburgh)

You can find out more about the shortlisters and view their work on the Kelpies website.


Editorial Director Eleanor Collins said, "The quality of entries was extremely high, making the task of judging difficult but enjoyable! Our shortlisters showed a lot of skill and creativity in their writing, and we are excited to see what their futures have in store."

Art and Production Director Leah McDowell said, "It was great to see such a wide and varied interpretation of the brief of "My Scotland", with a range of illustration styles and approaches on display. Choosing only four shortlisters was a challenge, but we encourage anyone who didn't make it this time to try again in 2022."

The winners of the Kelpies Prizes for Writing and Illustration will be announced for the first time at a virtual award ceremony on Thursday 13th May. Winners will each receive 9 months of mentoring with Floris Books and £500 cash.


About the Prizes

The Kelpies Prize for Writing was first awarded in 2005 with support from the Scottish Arts Council, now Creative Scotland, and seeks to encourage and reward Scottish writing for children. Previous winners include Scottish Children's Book Award winners Janis Mackay and Alex McCall, and the prize also launched the careers of Kindle bestseller Daniela Sacerdoti and multi-award-winning Lari Don.

The Kelpies Prize for Illustration was launched in 2014 as the Kelpies Design & Illustration Prize, with the aim of discovering new Scottish talent in cover design. Kelpies Illustration Prize entrants have gone on to work with Floris Books on projects including A Secret Diary of the First World War  (Darren Gate, 2016 winner) and The Treasure of the Loch Ness Monster  (Nataša Ilinčić, 2017 shortlist).