Skip to main content

The network for trade,
training and development 

23 June 2021

New Writers Awards announced

1 February 2021

On 1 February 2021 Scottish Book Trust announced the 11 recipients of the New Writers Awards 2021, which provide a selection of talented writers who have not yet published a full-length book or collection with professional guidance to help them move towards publication, as well as financial support. Funded by Creative Scotland and run by Scottish Book Trust, the national charity transforming lives through reading and writing, the awards have supported over 100 creative individuals since 2009.


The 2021 award recipients are:

Nasim Rebecca Asl
Thomas Stewart
Tim Craven 

Children's and Young Adult
Hazel Knox
Sally Costelloe

Fiction and Narrative Non-Fiction
Deborah Chu
Gillian Shearer
Hannah Nicholson
Samantha Dooey-Miles

Beth Frieden
Roddy Neithercut


Each of the 11 recipients will receive a £2,000 cash award and support tailored to their needs including mentoring from writers and industry professionals, training opportunities, and the platform to showcase their work to publishers and agents.

For more details, see the Scottish Book Trust press release of 1 February 2021 on the Scottish Book Trust website