Skip to main content

The network for trade,
training and development 

27 January 2021

Nibbies 2020 shortlists announced

20 March 2020

On Friday 20 March, The Bookseller announced the shortlists for the British Book Awards (Nibbies) 2020. We're delighted to see members Jenny Brown, Scottish Book Trust and HarperCollins on them.

Jenny Brown of Jenny Brown Associates has been shortlisted for the Literary Agent of the Year Award. The judges said: Brown's Edinburgh-based business raised the profiles of narrative non-fiction, crime and literary fiction writers, including Kathleen Jamie, Shaun Bythell and Clare Hunter. Beyond the agency, she did a lot of work to promote Scottish publishing too.

Scottish Book Trust is shortlisted for the Marketing Strategy of the Year Award for Book Week Scotland 2019. The judges said: The annual celebration is in its eighth year. With more than 1,300 events and a free Digital Festival around the theme of conversation, its media reach grew by 25% year on year.

HarperCollins has a slew of shortlistings for itself and its imprints including: Collins - Academic, Educational and Professional Publisher of the Year (for the eighth time in nine years); HarperCollins Children's Books - Children's Publisher of the Year; Avon - Imprint of the Year; and HarperCollins - Publisher of the Year. In the books awards, the following are shortlisted: Wild Swans  by Jung Chang - 30 from 30 special award;  The Beast of Buckingham Palace by David Walliams, illustrated by Tony Ross - Children's Fiction Book of the Year; Lies, Lies, Lies by Adele Parks (HQ) - Fiction Book of the Year; The Hunting Party by Lucy Foley - Fiction: Crime and Thriller award; and The Binding by Bridget Collins (Borough Press) - Fiction: Début Book of the Year

Earlier in the week, Sandstone Press was announced as the Scotland winner of Small Press of the Year and is therefore shortlisted for the overall Small Press of the Year.

On the bookshop front, congratulations to The Edinburgh Bookshop shortlisted for Children's Bookseller of the Year and also to Lighthouse, the Scotland winner of the regional and country round of the Independent Bookshop of the Year Award 2020. Lighthouse is shortlisted for the overall Independent Bookshop of the Year.

For the full shortlists, see the British Book Awards on The Bookseller website.

The winners will be announced on 29 June 2020.