Skip to main content

The network for trade,
training and development 

05 December 2021

Saltire Society Books of the Year 2017 shortlists

12 October 2017

Multi-award winning writers and household names James Kelman, Bernard MacLaverty and Denise Mina feature alongside emerging talents Ever Dundas and Kate Hunter in 2017 Saltire Literary Awards shortlists, unveiled on 12 October at Waterstones.

The shortlists for the seven awards (five book and two publisher awards) that make up the 2017 Saltire Literary Awards were officially announced at an event hosted at the Edinburgh West End branch of Waterstones and featured readings from last year's winner of the Scottish Book of the Year Award, Kathleen Jamie.

Widely regarded as Scotland's most prestigious book awards, the Saltire Literary Awards are organised by the Saltire Society, a non-political independent charity founded in 1936 which aims to celebrate the Scottish imagination and are supported by Creative Scotland.

Publishing Scotland members are well represented with titles from Canongate, Cranachan Publishing, Edinburgh University Press, Fledgling Press, Freight Books, Luath Press (3) and Sandstone Press (2). See the covers below.

Saltire books shortlist 2017

See also the Publisher of the Year and Emerging Publisher shortlists.

The winning book from each of book categories below will go on to compete for the coveted Saltire Scottish Book of the Year Award:

Saltire Society Scottish Fiction Book of the Year Award, sponsored by Creative Scotland

Saltire Society Scottish Non-Fiction Book of the Year Award shortlist

Saltire Society Scottish Research Book of the Year Award sponsored by the National Library of Scotland shortlist

Saltire Society Scottish Poetry Book of the Year Award shortlist

 Saltire Society Scottish First Book of the Year Award shortlist

For more about the awards, see the Saltire Society website.