Skip to main content

The network for trade,
training and development 

24 January 2022

Scots Language Awards 2021 nominations announced

7 September 2021

The Scots Language Awards exist to highlight the Scots Language, bringing it to the attention of the public and the media in all its many forms.

The 2021 nominations have been announced and the winners will be revealed at a ceremony on Saturday 25 September 2021. 

For the full list of nominees and to vote for your favourites (by Sunday 19 September), see the Scots Language Awards website.


The categories include:

Scots Book o the Year sponsored by Scottish Book Trust

Duck Feet by Ely Percy (Monstrous Regiment)

Mither Tongue  by Jidi Majia (translated from Chinese by Stuart Paterson, Sheena Blackhall, Christine De Luca and Denis Mair) (Vagabond Voices)

Tha Jaa Banes by Stephen Dornan (Ulster Scots Academy Press

The Young Team by Graeme Armstrong (Picador)


Scots Bairns Book o the Year sponsored by Scottish Government

Neeps and Tatties by Carey Morning, illustrated by Anna York (Nil by Mouth)

The Glasgow Gruffalo's Wean by Julia Donaldson and Axel Scheffler, translated by Elaine C. Smith (Itchy Coo)

The Itchy Coo Book o Grimms' Fairy Tales in Scots by the Brothers Grimm. Translated from Saviour Pirotta's retellings by various authors, edited by Matthew Fitt and James Robertson, and illustrated by Emma Chichester Clark (Itchy Coo)

The Laddie, the Mowdie, the Tod and the Cuddie by Charles Mackesy, translated by Matthew Fitt (Luath Press)

The Nicht Afore Christmas by Clement Clarke Moore, translated by Irene McFarlane and illustrated by Rosemary Cunningham (Tippermuir Books)

The Treisure o Rachlan the Reid  by Hergé, translated by Susan Rennie (Dalen)


Scots Schuil o the Year sponsored by Itchy Coo / Black & White Publishing

Dunfermline High School

Pentland Primary, Edinburgh

Troqueer Primary School, Dumfries

Westray Junior Secondary School, Orkney