Skip to main content

The network for trade,
training and development 

24 January 2022

The 2021 Wainwright Prize shortlist

10 August 2021

Canongate Books are amongst the shortlists for the Wainwright Prize for UK Nature Writing. Named after nature writer Alfred Wainwright, the prizes are awarded to the work which best reflects Wainwright's core values and includes a celebration of nature and our natural environment, or a warning of the dangers to it across the globe.

We are delighted to see Edinburgh publisher Canongate in the list with Thin Places, Kerri ni Dochartaigh.


The full list is below:

The shortlist for the 2021 Wainwright Prize for UK Nature Writing is: 

English Pastoral: An Inheritance, James Rebanks, Penguin Press

Featherhood, Charlie Gilmour, Orion Publishing Group

I Belong Here, Anita Sethi, Bloomsbury

Seed to Dust, Marc Hamer, Vintage

The Screaming Sky, Charles Foster, Little Toller Books

The Wild Silence, Raynor Winn, Michael Joseph

Thin Places, Kerri ni Dochartaigh, Canongate Books


Visit for more information.