Skip to main content

The network for trade,
training and development 

29 July 2021

Walter Scott Prize for Historical Fiction 2021 shortlist

23 March 2021

Honouring the achievements of the founding father of the historical novel, the Walter Scott Prize for Historical Fiction is one of the most prestigious literary prizes in the world. With a total value of over £30,000, and now in its twelfth year, it is unique for rewarding writing of exceptional quality which is set in the past.

On 23 March 2021 the five book shortlist was announced for the 2021 Walter Scott Prize for Historical Fiction:

  • Hamnet by Maggie O'Farrell (Tinder Press)


With Steven Conte, Kate Grenville and Pip Williams all shortlisted, Australian authors comprise the majority of the shortlist. This is the first time in the history of the Walter Scott Prize that this has happened.

The winner will be announced in mid-June. Because of the postponement of the Borders Book Festival this year, the winner will be announced online and through media partners.