Skip to main content

Member Highlights

Spring/summer 2022


Helena Heald (Edinburgh University Press) is one of the 2022 Printing Charity Rising Stars in marketing announced on 7 July.

Gill Heeley (Canongate Books), Heather McDaid, and Laura Jones (both 404 Ink), have all been named as Rising Stars by The Bookseller in its 2022 list.

Helena Gonda, a Senior Commissioning Editor at Canongate Books, has been named as one of the 2022 Frankfurt Book Fair’s Fellows.

Congratulations to Jessica Neale of Canongate Books who won the British Book Awards Rights Professional of the Year 2022 (announced on 23 May 2022).

Fionn Petch has won the 2021 Premio Valle Inclan Prize for a translation of A Musical Offering by Luis Sagasti (Charco Press).



The Chessmen Thief by Barbara Henderson (Pokey Hat, Cranachan Publishing) is the winner of the 5–9 years category of The Young Quills Awards for Historical Fiction 2022.

Mrs Death Misses Death by Salena Godden (Canongate Books) won the BA Indie Book Award for Fiction 2022.

Three members have been awarded Scots Language Publication Grants 2022 for the following books:

  • Animal Fairm by George Orwell, edited by Thomas Clark (Luath Press)
  • Birds and Beasties: Scots Poems for Bairns (working title) by J.K. Annand, edited by Matthew Fitt and James Robertson (Itchy Coo / Black & White Publishing Ltd)
  • Liberties by Peter Bennett (Rymour Books)

Canongate Books author Ruth Ozeki has won the 2022 Women’s Prize for Fiction with her fourth novel The Book of Form and Emptiness.

The winner of the inaugural Kavya Prize is ‘Toy Plastic Chicken’ by Uma Nada-Rajah, A Play and a Pint (Salamander Street).

The Dark Remains by William McIlvanney and Ian Rankin (Canongate Books) won the Fiction: Crime and Thriller category at the 2022 Bookseller’s British Book Awards announced on 23 May.

Fin & Rye & Fireflies by Harry Cook (Ink Road/Black & White Publishing) won the Scottish Teenage Book Prize 2022. The winner was announced on 4 May.

Worlds Apart: Worldbuilding in Fantasy and Science Fiction by Francesca T Barbini, Ed. (Luna Press Publishing) won Best Non-Fiction at the BSFA Awards 2021 announced on 18 April 2022.


Luna Press Publishing has books nominated in three categories of the British Fantasy Awards as well as being nominated itself for Best Independent Press. The book nominations are:

Luna Press Publishing has two books on the Subjective Chaos Kind of Awards shortlist: This Is Our Undoing by Lorraine Wilson (Best Debut Novel) and The Future God of Love by Dilman Dila (Best Novella). Finalists will be selected in July and winners announced in September.

Three titles published by Canongate Books are shortlisted for 2022 James Cropper Wainwright Prizes: The Instant by Amy Liptrot and Time on Rock: A Climber’s Route into the Mountains by Anna Fleming (Nature Writing), and The Biggest Footprint: Eight billion humans. One clumsy giant written by Rob Sears, illustrated by Tom Sears (Children’s Writing on Nature and Conservation). The winners will be announced on 7 September.

The Wolf Hunters by Amanda Mitchison (Fledgling Press) is shortlisted for the Bloody Scotland Debut Prize 2022. The winner will be announced on 15 September.

The Future God of Love by Dilman Dila (Luna Press Publishing) is shortlisted in the Novella category of the African Nommo Awards 2022. The winner will be announced in autumn.


 Case Study by Graeme Macrae Burnett (Saraband) is longlisted for the Booker Prize 2022. The shortlist will be unveiled on 6 September 2022.

The Book of Form and Emptiness by Ruth Ozeki (Canongate Books) is on The Goldsboro Books Glass Bell Award 2022 longlist. The shortlist will be announced on 28 July.

Case Study by Graeme Macrae Burnet (Saraband) is longlisted for the Gordon Burn Prize 2022. The shortlist will be announced in August.

The McIlvanney Prize 2022 longlist includes three books from Canongate Books: May God Forgive by Alan Parks; The Second Cut by Louise Welsh; and A Corruption of Blood by Ambrose Parry. Also on the longlist is The Sound of Sirens by Ewan Gault (Leamington Books). Finalists will be revealed at the beginning of September.