Skip to main content

Society of Antiquaries of Scotland

The Society of Antiquaries of Scotland is an independent publisher of research in Scottish history and archaeology. Our publishing activity dates back more than 200 years to the Enlightenment: the first volume of the Society’s transactions, Archaeologia Scotica, was published in 1792. We follow in the tradition today by producing research papers, reports and books written by leading experts on Scotland’s past.

Our list includes many large-format, highly illustrated non-fiction books, such as Painting the Town: Scottish Urban History in Art, as well as academic monographs, including Portmahomack on Tarbat Ness: Changing Ideologies in North-east Scotland, Sixth to Sixteenth Century AD.

We are a charity advocating for the heritage sector and we work towards sharing the knowledge of Scotland’s past as widely as possible. Open Access is a key part of the Society’s publishing programme and we offer a range of Open Access options for all our publications.

Established: 1780

Types of publications: Scholarly and non-fiction books on Scottish history and archaeology; excavation reports from sites across Scotland; and papers covering new research, ideas, interpretations and discoveries. All publications are fully peer-reviewed.

Submission details: Please contact the Managing Editor with a summary of your project in the first instance. See our website for further information on making a new submission.

Rymour Books

Rymour Books is a small but fast growing publisher of, primarily, titles of Scottish interest. Our books have received excellent reviews, been nominated for awards, and in the short time since Rymour’s formation we have established a growing reputation, attracting grants from, for example, The Doric Board, and working in partnership with the Scottish Poetry Library, The Royal Scottish Geographical Society and others.

Rymour Books are committed to supporting new writers and first-time authors and, in this category, we have published works by Spike Munro, Kirsti Wishart and Calum Smith which have been enthusiastically received.

People: Ian Spring, Ruby McCann

Established: March 2020

Publications: 12 per year average

Types of books published: Poetry, ficton, contemporary fiction, nonfiction, academic, historical, anthologies

Submission details: Please refer to Rymour Books JOIN US page

 

Leamington Books

Leamington Books publishes a variety of fiction and non-fiction titles under our ethos, Transformative Publishing.

Our authors are chosen for their undiscovered talents, unique perspectives and one-of-a-kind stories to tell. Leamington’s work is driven by a wish to bring these concepts into reality with passion, drive and support ― to make our authors’ dreams come true.

Our work can be summarised in our company values: fun, safety and creativity.

In 2021, we published 14 titles across multiple genres, including fiction, non-fiction, anthology and poetry.

At present, we manage six imprints: Leamington Books, Garrison, The Magic Road, Gothic World Literature Editions, Pierpoint and Poetry Imprint. We aim for our imprints to carry an interesting, multifaceted set of work ― for example, Garrison is the home of crime and psychological drama, whilst our Gothic World Literature Editions re-introduces and re-presents important but ‘lost’ or forgotten classics, such as The Crux and The Yellow Wallpaper by Charlotte Perkins Gilman; our best-seller The Black Vampyre by Uriah Derrick D’arcy; and Hell by Henri Barbusse.

Our 2021 titles included Charlie Roy’s emotional drama, The Broken Pane, and Colin Burnett’s Scots socio-political story collection, A Working Class State of Mind; alongside Ewan Gault’s gritty small-town thriller, The Sound of Sirens, and Karen Taylor’s exciting serial-killer chase, Fairest Creatures.

We have recently partnered with Scotland’s best-known radical political blog Bella Caledonia, to produce an anthology of writing from 2007 to 2021.

We have published popular non-fiction titles The Runes: A Grounding in Northern Magic by James Flowerdew; and Blockchain, Bitcoin and You by Temple Melville.

Leamington also publishes the work of John Herdman, Scotland’s key post-war novella and short novel writer, whose books have a gothic and sometimes supernatural edge, in the tradition of Scott and Hogg.

We value neurodivergent, disabled and chronically ill writers and editors, taking measures to ensure that every submission opening or writing opportunity strongly encourages these works and narratives.

In 2021 we became a Community Interest Company on the basis of carrying this goal into the future.

In 2022 we have published Carla the debut poetry collection from Carla Woodburn; and Polaris by Scotland’s premier Gaelic writer Marcas Mac an Tuairneir.

We are delighted to have become a country finalist for The Bookseller’s Small Press of the Year Award in 2022.

Our title The Sound of Sirens by Ewan Gault is currently longlisted for the 2022 McIlvanney Crime Award.

In 2022 we will launch an ambitious international publishing project, Novella Express, featuring largely new writers from across the world.

 

Submission details: Leamington Books is open to submissions across all genres. More information on their submissions process can be found here.

Frontline Noir

Frontline Noir, founded in 2008, is a publisher of current affairs and recent history titles covering controversial topics and events, often written by people who were participants or otherwise affected. Our aim is to ensure such subjects are given a human and personal touch as often such important events are viewed without due appreciation of the human story. Based in Aberdeenshire.