Skip to main content
Publisher member


Saraband is an award-winning independent publisher of outstanding fiction, absorbing nature and place writing, important environmental debate and compelling life writing. We publish authors with deep knowledge of the culture, landscapes, wildlife, folk traditions and history in regions around the UK. Our fiction includes literary, historical and contemporary stories reflecting UK and international perspectives. From our inception, we have provided a platform for underrepresented and marginalised voices that are often overlooked.

Our authors include Graeme Macrae Burnet, Jim Crumley, Roy Dennis, Karen Lloyd, J.A. Mensah, Ewan Morrison, Stephen Moss, Donald S Murray, Chitra Ramaswamy, Amanda Thomson and Olga Wojtas. Collectively, these and others have won and been shortlisted for many prestigious literary prizes on local, national and international levels.

Established: 1994

Publications (yearly average): 15

Types of books published: Literary fiction and narrative non-fiction

Submission details:  Accept unsolicited non-fiction submissions, but not fiction. Submissions by email only.

Saraband highlights

Fiona Hyslop and Sara Hunt

Sara Hunt of Saraband (right) receives the Saltire Society Publisher of the Year Award 2013 from culture minister Fiona Hyslop. Picture credit: Graham Clark and the Saltire Society.

His Bloody Project
The Nature of Winter
Cross Purpose
The Jewel
The Accident on the A35
The Four Marys
A Handbook of Scotland's Coasts