Skip to main content


Comedy Women in Print Prize 2022/23 open for submissions

The closing date for submissions is Friday 14th October 2022.

Now in its fourth year, The Comedy Women in Print prize (CWIP) is seeking the best comedy writing by women from the UK and Ireland in its mission to celebrate witty diverse female voices and kick-start comedy writing careers.

Submissions for CWIP 2022/23 open on Monday 5th September 2022. All entries should be submitted before the deadline of Friday 14th October 2022. For full details and to enter, see the Comedy Women in Print website.

The UK and Ireland’s first awards focused on witty writing by women, the CWIP Prize, was launched by actress, author, and stand-up comedian HELEN LEDERER in 2019 as a literary platform to increase exposure for female comedy writing and as a way of celebrating fresh and established talent. At a time when some literary prizes have been forced to close, the Comedy Women In Print prize is even more determined to ensure it continues to offer opportunities to shine a light on new and established funny women writers.


  • Comedy Short Story with Farrago (between 5000 – 15,000 words)
  • Cash prize of £1,000 for the winner and all shortlisted entries will receive £100 and will be published in an anthology by Farrago in 2023.
  • Published Comedy Novel
  • Winner of a comedy novel published between 29th May 2021 and 14th October 2022 will receive a cash prize of £3000 from the ALCS.
  • Unpublished Comedy Novel (completed work of at least 80,000 words)

The winner will receive a publishing contract and a £5000 advance from Harper Fiction. The unpublished runner-up receives a place on the University of Hertfordshire MA course in Creative Writing or Writing Mentorship. A second runner-up will receive a place on the online MA in Comedy Writing from Falmouth University – the first of its kind in the country.

This year’s judges include comedy actor Susie Blake; comedian Arabella Weir, broadcaster, and head judge Angie Greaves; actor and presenter Michelle de Swarte; comedian Olga Koch; comedy actress Llewella Gideon; national treasure Anita Dobson and publishing professionals from Farrago and HarperFiction.

Bestselling author Marian Keyes has been a judge twice and is a patron of CWIP. Exciting Honorary Awards to be announced at the awards event, including an homage to the late great Sue Townsend.

Key dates:

  • Closing Date: Friday 14th October 2022
  • Long List Announced: Wednesday 14th December 2022
  • Short List Announced: Wednesday 22nd February 2023
  • CWIP Winners Event: Monday 17th April 2023

This year’s glamourous awards ceremony will be held at London’s Groucho Club. The event will include a newly created Legacy Recognition Award, joyfully celebrating the clever, witty, satirical work of the late Sue Townsend that ‘both holds us accountable and makes us laugh like a drain’.

Website: Comedy Women In Print