Skip to main content


Sports Book Awards 2023

Apply by 30th January 2023 to have your book considered for the 2023 Sports Book Awards.

Submissions are now open for the 21st annual Sports Book Awards.

The Sports Book Awards, in association with the Sunday Times, is the major annual promotion for sports writing and publishing. For over 20 years, the awards have been highlighting the most outstanding sports books of the previous calendar year to showcase their merits and enhance their reputation and profile.

Sports books published in the UK in hardback or paperback in the 2022 calendar year are eligible. Submissions are open in 11 categories:

  • Autobiography of the Year
  • Best Sports Writing of the Year
  • Children’s Sports Book of the Year
  • Cricket Book of the Year
  • Cycling Book of the Year
  • Football Book of the Year
  • Illustrated Book of the Year
  • International Autobiography of the Year
  • Rugby Book of the Year
  • Sports Entertainment Book of the Year
  • Sport Performance, Fitness & Health Book of the Year

The deadline for submissions is 30th January 2023.

Key dates:

  • Shortlist launch – 3rd May
  • Shortlist promotion – 3rd – 24th May
  • Sports Book Awards ceremony & dinner – 24th May
  • Winners promotion – 25th May – 18th June

To find out more about the submission criteria or to nominate a title, visit the Sports Book Awards website.