Skip to main content


The Walter Scott Prize for Historical Fiction 2023 open for submissions

The submissions window is open until Friday 30 September 2022.  Books must be submitted by publishers and must have been published during the calendar year 2022.

You can find the rules and criteria for the 2023 Walter Scott Prize for Historical Fiction and the submission form on the Walter Scott Prize website.

The 2023 Prize timetable is:

15 August 2022 – Prize opens for submissions from publishers

30 September 2022 – Closing date for submissions

February 2023 – Longlist announced

March/April 2023 – Shortlist announced

June 2023 – Winner announced/Borders Book Festival event, Melrose, Scotland