Skip to main content

The network for trade,
training and development 

11 August 2020

Members' News

Summer 2020



Christine Wilson, Publications Officer at Historic Environment Scotland, is one of The Bookseller's Rising Stars of 2020.

Witherby Publishing Group, the Postgraduate Publishing Programmes at Edinburgh Napier University and the Centre for International Publishing and Communication at the University of Stirling have launched two Publishing Scholarships for the academic year 2020-21. The scholarships have been established to support individuals from under-represented or disadvantaged backgrounds to undertake a postgraduate degree in Publishing.

The winners of the British Book Awards 2020 were announced at a virtual ceremony on 29 June 2020. Members Sandstone PressJenny Brown, Scottish Book Trust and HarperCollins were in the running for awards:



My Name is Why by Lemn Sissay (Canongate Books) is shortlisted for the Gordon Burn Prize 2020. The winner will be announced on 15 October.

Cricket 2.0 by Tim Wigmore and Freddie Wilde (Polaris Publishing) is the winner of the Heartaches Cricket Book of the Year 2020 at the Telegraph Sports Book Awards. Another Polaris Publishing book - Behind the Dragon by Ross Harries - was shortlisted for Rugby Book of the Year at the same awards.

Lark by Anthony McGowan (Barrington Stoke) is the winner of The CILIP Carnegie Medal 2020Edinburgh-based Barrington Stoke is the first Scottish publisher to receive the CILIP Carnegie Medal in its 84-year history.

Award-winning author and poet Donald S Murray has won the Society of Authors' Paul Torday Memorial Prize for his debut novel As the Women Lay Dreaming (Saraband).

Armistice Runner by Tom Palmer (Barrington Stoke) won the Middle School Award at the Ysgol Bae Baglan Book Awards 2020.

The Adventures of China Iron by Gabriela Cabezón Cámara, translated by Iona Macintyre and Fiona Mackintosh, and published by Edinburgh-based Charco Press, is one of the six books shortlisted for the International Booker Prize 2020. The winner will be announced on 26 August 2020.

A work published by Luna Press Publishing in Edinburgh has been shortlisted for the NOMMO Awards for Speculative Fiction by Africans. It is: "Incompleteness Theories" in Incomplete Solutions by Wole Talabi (Best Novella).

The Crown Agent by Stephen O'Rourke (Sandstone Press) is shortlisted for the Bloody Scotland Crime Debut of the Year. The winner will be announced on Friday 18 September 2020.

Whirligig by Andrew James Greig (Fledgling Press) is longlisted for the John Creasey (New Blood) Dagger 2020 and for the McIlvanney Prize 2020.

The Art of Dying by Ambrose Parry (Canongate) is longlisted for the McIlvanney Prize 2020.

Rootbound by Alice Vincent (Canongate) is on the longlist for the 2020 Wainwright Prize for Nature Writing. The shortlists will be announced on 30 July.