Skip to main content

The network for trade,
training and development 

18 September 2021

Baillie Gifford Prize for Non-Fiction

Formerly known as The Samuel Johnson Prize (1999 - 2015), it is the most prestigious non-fiction prize in the UK and worth £30,000 to the winner. The Baillie Gifford Prize aims to reward the best of non-fiction and is open to authors of any nationality. It covers all non-fiction in the areas of current affairs, history, politics, science, sport, travel, biography, autobiography and the arts.

It was announced at the end of 2015 that Edinburgh-based investment management partnership Baillie Gifford was to become primary sponsor. The agreement with Baillie Gifford will provide substantial support over an initial period of five years, which will enable the prize to build its profile and impact, both nationally and internationally. The award was renamed 'The Baillie Gifford Prize for Non-fiction'. 

Submissions are in spring, the shortlist will be announced in October, with the winner revealed in November. For more about the prize, see its website.


2017 Prize

David France won the 2017 Prize for How to Survive a Plague (Picador).


2018 Prize

The 2018 shortlist included Amateur: A True Story About What Makes a Man by Thomas Page McBee (Canongate Books). Serhii Plokhy won the 2018 Prize for Chernobyl: History of A Tragedy.


2019 Prize

Hallie Rubenhold for her book The Five: The Untold Lives of The Women Killed by Jack the Ripper (Doubleday)


2020 Prize

The winner of the 2020 Baillie Gifford Prize will be announced on 24 November 2020. Please see the website for more details.