Skip to main content

The network for trade,
training and development 

18 September 2021

Booker International Prize

The Booker International Prize was originally established in 2005 thanks to the generous extension of funding given by Man Group. The 2019 prize marked the final highlight of their successful 18-year sponsorship of the prizes. The Trustees of the Booker Prize Foundation announced on 28 February 2019 that Crankstart, the charitable foundation of Michael Moritz KBE and his wife, Harriet Heyman, will be the new supporter of the Booker Prize and the International Booker Prize from 1 June 2019. Crankstart has committed to an initial five-year exclusive funding term with an option to renew for a further five years. From 2019 the original prize is once again known as the Booker Prize, while the prize for literature in translation became the International Booker Prize.

Originally the Prize was awarded for a body of work (like the Nobel) but since 2015 it has been awarded to a book of fiction translated into English, with the £50,000 prize split between author and translator.

For details, see the Booker Prize website.




Sandstone Press

Celestial Bodies by Jokha Alharthi, translated by Marilyn Booth from Arabic and published by Sandstone Press, won the Man Booker International Prize 2019.



Charco Press

The Adventures of China Iron by Gabriela Cabezón Cámara (Spanish-Argentina), translated by Iona Macintyre and Fiona Mackintosh, was shortlisted for the International Booker Prize 2020.  


Charco Press

Die, My Love by Ariana Harwicz, translated by Sarah Moses and Carolina Orloff and published by Charco Press, was longlisted in 2018.



Ismail Kadare - 2005 Winner (Albanian poet and novelist published in UK by Canongate Books)

Muriel Stark - 2005 Finalist

James Kelman - 2009 Finalist and 2011 Finalist