Skip to main content

The network for trade,
training and development 

18 September 2021

British Book Awards

The British Book Awards celebrate the greatness of the British book trade and the people behind it - the best books, the best writers, the best bookshops, the best publishers - from industry greats to those starting out. The deadlines for applications are generally in February, with shortlists announced in March and the winners announced in May of each year.

2020 Awards

Sandstone Press won the Small Press of the Year (Scotland) award, with the shortlist including BHP Comics, Charco Press, Little Door Books, and Scotland Street Press.

It was once again a good year for independent Scottish bookshops, with Lighthouse winning in the Independent Bookshop of the Year (Scotland) category, and The Edinburgh Bookshop shortlisted for the Children's Bookseller of the Year.

Scottish Book Trust was highly commended in the Marketing Strategy of the Year category, for its campaign to promote Book Week Scotland 2019. 

2019 Awards

Golden Hare Books won the Independent Bookshop of the Year and Noor Hemani, of Lighthouse, won the Individual Bookseller of the Year. It was a vintage year for Scottish bookshops with The Edinburgh Bookshop and The Mainstreet Trading Company commended in their categories too.

The awards are organised by The Bookseller and the winners were announced at a ceremony in London hosted by Lauren Laverne on 13 May 2019. For a full report of the winners, see The Bookseller 13 May 2019.

For more information on the awards, see The British Book Awards website.