Skip to main content

The network for trade,
training and development 

18 September 2021

Edwin Morgan Poetry Award

With a prize of £20,000, the Edwin Morgan Poetry Award is one of the largest in the UK. The Edwin Morgan Trust was established in 2012 to fulfil the wishes of the Scottish poet laureate, Edwin Morgan (1920-2010), particularly the foundation of a new award for young Scottish poets.

A sum of £20,000 is awarded biennially for the best unpublished collection of poems by a Scottish poet aged 30 or under. The runner-up receives £2,500 and other shortlisted poets £1,000.

Applications for the 2020 award are now closed. The next award year is 2022, and the opening date will be advertised in due course.

For full details and to see all previous Edwin Morgan Poetry Award winners, visit the Edwin Morgan Trust website.