Skip to main content

The network for trade,
training and development 

15 April 2021

Sarah MacLachlan

Sarah MacLachlan has worked in publishing for over 28 years. She began her career in 1986 running the publicity department for Oxford University Press in Toronto. Subsequently she worked for Little, Brown Canada as VP Publicity and Marketing, and in 1998 was hired by the American distributor, Publishers Group West, to run their Toronto operation as President. In December 2003 she was hired by Scott Griffin to become the President of the literary publisher House of Anansi Press. In 2005 Anansi acquired the children's publisher, Groundwood Books. Sarah oversees both companies, and in 2010 Publisher of Anansi was added to her title.

Anansi was the original publisher of Margaret Atwood's Survival and her award-winning poetry collection, The Circle Game. They were one of Michael Ondaatje's first publishers. Under MacLachlan, Anansi has come to international attention as the publisher of the IMPAC award-winning novel De Niro's Game by Rawi Hage, the Man Booker finalist The Sisters Brothers by Patrick deWitt, Orange Prize finalist Annabel by Kathleen Winter, and the work of Booker longlisted novelist Lisa Moore. In 2012, Anansi launched a new imprint, Anansi Digital, which publishes literary works by emerging and established authors whose work is best showcased in the digital environment. One of its first releases was Speeches for Dr. Frankenstein by Margaret Atwood with illustrations by Charles Pachter. 

In 2013, Anansi published Lynn Coady's Hellgoing, which went on to win the ScotiaBank Giller Prize, one of the most prestigious literary prizes in Canada.

As well as Canadian authored novels, Anansi also publishes international authors under the Anansi International imprint as well as under the crime fiction imprint Spiderline. Some of the books under these imprints that have gone on to become bestsellers include Under The Hawthorn Tree by Ai Mi, The Book of Fate by Parinoush Saniee, and Doppler by Erlend Loe.