Skip to main content

The network for trade,
training and development 

15 April 2021

Jane Palfreyman

Jane Palfreyman is an Australian editor and publisher with over 30 years' experience in the industry. She started at Macmillan in 1986, eventually becoming Picador Publisher. In 1994 she was appointed Publishing Director at Random House, where she edited and published writers including Tom Keneally, Charlotte Wood, Frank Moorhouse, Gail Jones and J. M. Coetzee. She is proud to still be publishing authors whose debut novels were launched during that time, including Michelle de Kretser, Malcolm Knox and Christos Tsiolkas.

In 2007, Jane moved to independent publisher Allen & Unwin, where she publishes literary fiction and non-fiction, including award-winning and international bestsellers Jasper Jones by Craig Silvey, and The Slap by Christos Tsiolkas, which has now sold over a million copies around the world. She also published Miles Franklin Award winners Questions of Travel by Michelle de Kretser (2013) and The Eye of the Sheep by Sofie Laguna (2015). Recent international publications include Charlotte Wood's The Natural Way of Things, which won the 2016 Stella Prize, and The Last Painting of Sara de Vos by Dominic Smith, winner of the Fiction Prize in the 2017 Indie Book Awards.

Jane's interest in Scottish writing was cemented when she bought ANZ rights for Kevin Williamson's Children of the Albion Rovers in 1997. She has recently acquired the rights to Phillip Miller's All the Galaxies (Freight), which will be published by Allen & Unwin in Australia and New Zealand in September 2017.